Membership

 

Guide to Membership

Guide to membership front cover

Click image to download

Membership of the Chartered Institution of Civil Engineering Surveyors

Please use this page to decide which grade of membership, specialism and route to membership you wish to take and are eligible for.

Start with MEMBER GRADES and click on each title for a QUICK GUIDE which explains how to apply.  The Quick Guides may also be found by clicking on the QUICK GUIDES button.

Check also the competencies for the specialism in which you work. These describe in detail the knowledge, skills and experience that you will need to demonstrate in order to become a Technical Member or Member. There are competencies for each specialism e.g. quantity surveying or land surveying.

The Fellow attributes give a broader guideline for those who wish to apply for the grade of Fellow.

If you have a prior professional qualification, please look at ACCELERATED ROUTES.

Click here to view application, upgrade and annual subscription fees

Please contact the Membership Department if you need assistance – membership@cices.org

 

The next interview, submission and results dates can be found below.

Submission deadline for applicants: Interview dates: Results dates:
Monday 16 August 2021 *w/b Monday 11 October 2021 Friday 10 December 2021
Monday 6 December 2021 w/b Monday 31 January and w/b 7 February 2022 Friday 8 April 2022
Monday 25 April 2022 w/b Monday 6 June and w/b 13 June 2022 Friday 5 August 2022
Monday 22 August 2022 w/b Monday 3 October and w/b 10 October 2022 Friday 9 December 2022

*this date has changed from the previously advertised week beginning Monday 1 November 2021


Interviews will be held online via MS Teams.


If you are planning on applying for membership or to upgrade your membership please use these dates as your guide to when interviews will take place and when you need to submit your application and documents by.  For overseas applicants interviews will continue to be arranged as required.


We have introduced set results dates so that you know when you will hear from CICES regarding the result of your interview. 

Applicants are advised to famailiarise themselves with the latest version of the competencies as they will be examined against these at interview, regardless of the version submitted. Please visit the Competencies page to view the latest versions.

Applicants and members are encouraged to familiarise themselves with the Rules of Professional Conduct

For a summary of all the grades and the documentation required click here