Skip navigation

New Council of Management

At the recent AGM, CICES president Andy Evans recently welcomed new members to our Council of Management (CoM).

He was also quick to thank those who had given their time so generously and were now stepping down.

In accordance with our institution’s royal charter and byelaws, our Council of Management is composed of:

  • CICES president
  • Immediate past president
  • Senior vice president
  • Vice president
  • Up to a maximum of 14 elected members

It’s also required that at least one third of the members elected (excluding the president) are either geospatial engineering surveyors or commercial managers.

CoM members sit for three years as the elected representatives of the institution and its members.

They are trustees who drive the direction and decision making for the best interests of the wider membership.

A new look CoM

There were six vacancies to be filled at the AGM, with a ballot necessary due to the fact that eight bona fide nominations had been received.

This was conducted by Murray Smith Chartered Accountants who acted as independent scrutineers. 

Elected via this ballot were:

  • Laxman Ghimire
  • Peter Hallsworth (returning)
  • Lewis Jefferson
  • Marek Suchocki
  • Byron Tyson
  • Russell Welsh

While the members stepping down were:

  • Patrick Waterhouse (resigned Feb 22)
  • Peter Hallsworth
  • John Battersby
  • Dr Francine Baker
  • Colin Murphy

The sixth vacancy was created due to existing CoM member, Alison Watson MBE moving into the president chain as vice president.

New and familiar

The new-look CoM now comprises:

  • Dr Andrew Evans (president)
  • Stephen Slessor (past president)
  • Batsetswe Motsumi (senior vice president)
  • Alison Watson (vice president)
  • Alexandra Axford
  • Chris Birchall
  • John Fraser
  • Laxman Ghimire
  • Peter Hallsworth
  • Robert Edward Hubbard
  • Lewis Jefferson
  • Paul MacArthur
  • Jim McCluskey
  • Michael McIlhatton
  • Marek Suchoki
  • Byron Tyson
  • Russell Welsh
  • Adrienne Yarwood

Andy Evans followed proceedings at the AGM with his thoughts on the new-look council, commenting:

‘Every September we welcome a new entry of CoM members and it was a pleasure to see both new and familiar faces at our most recent meeting.

‘I’m looking forward to working together with you all over the next couple of years.’

Published: 26 September 2022